A NY (+ Universal) Guide

What Goes Down at a Séance? Tales from My First One

In Events on July 25, 2013 at 11:00 am

When I first saw the flyer below at Brooklyn’s Yoga to the People, I was intrigued, curious, and a little apprehensive.

Weekly Williamsburg Spirit Seance happens every Thursday

At that point, my only impression of a psychic medium was Whoopi Goldberg in the movie Ghost and the New York City physics that try to lure you into their store fronts for a $5 reading.  At 24 years-old, I found myself sort of lost. I wanted more out of life and was looking for answers to my insecurities. But most of all, even though I couldn’t phrase it at the time, I was looking for more self-love.

I e-mailed Betsy to secure my spot a few days in advance for the Weekly Williamsburg Séance. In response, she e-mailed me with the logistics. No heavy preparation was required, although she did suggest mentally calling out to any loved ones in spirit and forming any questions to have answered during the séance.

Once I settled into Betsy’s warm and cozy Williamsburg space, the curiosity and butterflies that I felt when I had first e-mailed her set in once again. I truly didn’t know what to expect. All I had were preconceived notions of spirits, ghosts, and the magical kind of things you don’t experience every day.

When all attendees had made it to the circle, Betsy made it clear that there are no “gloom and doom” messages in the circle as she went over the rules for giving messages. This was a sigh of relief for me. She then introduced us to “Intuition 101,” through which she explained the idea that everyone can tune into their own gut and intuition. We were given some indications of what to look for when receiving psychic impressions in their various forms.

Then, we were ready to begin. Betsy opened with a prayer, which was then followed by a meditation that included some breathe work. Step by step as our eyes were closed, Betsy’s voice guided us to connect with our higher-selves. A visualization that enabled our energies to shift into a calm and relaxed state. The chatter of the day slipped away ans the room felt still and impermeable.

Following the meditation we gently made our way to the message-portion of the séance. Betsy would ask each person if she could come to them with a message before delivering it. For each person, she connects to the collective energy also known as Spirit, the person’s own energy, and people who are in spirit that have made their transition. Sometimes, she would share personal stories prompted by spirits on the other side, so that the sitter could identify with the message and fully understand it. As she went to each person with a unique message, I was able to find something to apply to my own life.

I felt physically and emotionally lighter after the séance as though I had gone through some kind of release. Every time I go back, my heart and space feel lighter afterward. Sometimes, the things I am struggling with become clearer and I am able to release a lot of my personal fears. I find comfort in the community of people the group brings together, individuals that are usually interested in personal healing and cultivating happiness. What’s more, Betsy hopes you walk away with the tools to listen to your own inner-voice outside of the circle.

If you want to find out more about the Weekly Williamsburg Seance, listen to Betsy’s Soundcloud here or check out her website. A word to the wise: séances fill up quickly, so e-mail Betsy 2 to 3 weeks in advance!

Add your own nuggets of wisdom...

